gym/workout · public speaking · Uncategorized

The Gym


The past two weeks I’ve been working out at the gym. Its hard starting from the very bottom when you see your friends lifting twice to three times as much as you. I know I’ll get back to my fit athletic self, it’ll just take some time and patience. Patience is hard for me.

Last night I went to the gym, and was shocked how many people were there. What’s so special about Wednesday night? Any who, I scanned my bar code “dog tag” and stretched for a little bit.

I started working on my biceps and triceps: 10 reps of 30 lbs. with a 15 second break for three sets.

Ab machine: 10 reps of 35 lbs. with a 15 second break.

Right when I was about to begin my second set, I hear this little giggle as this girl sat next to me on the other ab machine. I turn toward her and smile, she smiles back. I get through my second set and I can feel her eyes dart away from me. Then she says, “Hi, my name is Anna what’s yours?”. I look into her eyes and feel my throat tighten. I nonchalantly drink some of my water, but I know I’ll have to do it. I breathed and respond, “Hi, I’m J-J-James”. I prepared myself for the laughter that will soon come. She leaned over and took my hand, and smiled. She said, “I don’t mind if you have a stutter, I wouldn’t change you one bit.” I said, “Thank you, that means a lot to me.”

Sadly she had to leave, but she told me she lived close by so she’s here quite often. From that moment on my confidence was growing, which led to a very productive workout session. Looks like I’ll be going to the gym more.

– James

2 thoughts on “The Gym

What's on your mind?

