Articles and College · public speaking · Uncategorized

Finals are Over


I’ve completed my public speaking and piano performance finals, which were my last finals for the quarter.

Public speaking

This was a commemoration speech which could be about someone or something that’s very important to you, or our improvement in the class. I choose the latter. My speech was going to be about my stuttering, and how I’ve grown into a more confident public speaker. So there I was standing in a suit like a penguin with a tie. This will be the highlight of this quarter in college.

Less than a second later, I block on the first word. Instead of freaking out and becoming more nervous, I breathed and started again. It started to flow as I talked about my first speech, “I frantically changed words in order to not have a block or stammer”. As I got to the middle of my speech I realized I hardly looked at my paper, which made me engage with the audience more, a feat I never thought was possible.

At the close of my speech, I could hear a whimper. I see nearly every girl in my class in tears, or close to it. Once I ended, the whole class gave me a standing ovation.

Piano

After a brief break for lunch, I made my way down to the music building. I practiced my scales and songs for our final performance. To my amazement I was nailing all of it. My instructor comes into the practice room and says, “Wow James you didn’t have to wear a suit for the final, I just came casual”. I chuckle and reply, “I had a speech”.

I’m sitting at the piano bench playing the first scale. All goes fine until my fingers slip and I play a G# instead of a G natural. I finished the rest of the scale despite my error. The first song I played was “Ecossaise in G” by Beethoven, which I butchered. Sorry Ludwig. Next was “Working on the Railroad” which was fine until I had to turn the page, which made me lose my focus. Finally she asked me what song I would like to play, and I choose Fur Elise. The song flowed perfectly and she was impressed.

Finals week is over for me. I wish everyone luck on their finals, or if you don’t have any enjoy your summer!

– James

5 thoughts on “Finals are Over

  1. There’s nothing like that moment you realize you’re not really looking at the words you wrote and you’re just going for it. Brilliant, mate.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

