poems · Uncategorized

Will I wake up?


I look around me

I see the doctors and the nurses working

I’m guided towards the bed

It’s cold

I’m shaking

I’m nervous of what’s to come

I get on the bed

I stare at the ceiling

They tells me to breathe in oxygen

I know it’s not oxygen, but I breathe anyway

I count in my head how many breaths

17 was my count

Then I drifted to sleep

It was a deep slumber

I didn’t dream though

My major fear wasn’t about the surgery

No it was something more scary

Will I wake up again?

– James

4 thoughts on “Will I wake up?

What's on your mind?

