poems · Uncategorized

Recovery


I open my eyes

The light blinds me

Where am I?

I frantically look around my surroundings

I see my mom

She’s smiling

I look at my wrist

The IV is still there

I look towards my nose

There’s this big gauze pad on my nose

How long was I out?

Probably not long

Nurse comes in

Gives me some water

I feel thirsty

My throat remains a barren desert

I feel dizzy

I want to sleep

I refuse

Doctor comes in

Says the surgery went well

I feel groggy

I just want one thing

To go home

– James

 

What's on your mind?

