public speaking

Shyness and Awkwardness


shyness
Photo Credit to: http://empowermenthub.blogspot.com/2012/03/6-ways-to-overcome-shyness-and-gain.html

Hi everyone hope you’ve been doing well, and your Valentine’s Day was awesome! We Seattlities aren’t used to the glowing orb in the sky, so turning to stone is a high probability. Seattle pandemic aside (haha) I’ve noticed I’ve been having moments of shyness and extraversion. For example, in my Math class our teacher was talking about the American Civil War and I blurted out, “1861-1865 Northern for Southern families pitted against each other in all out warfare, many lost their lives and their stories have been told while others silenced. I’m a reenactor and reenactors are cool.” Then someone in the back said, “This guy is dopetastic” I replied, “Thank you I’m a history buff”.

The moments of awkwardness I’m still trying to work through. For example, when my Mom and sister C went to my highschool to watch a fundraiser show called, “Dance for Heart” that benefited Heart Disease awareness. My sports medicine teacher Mrs. W who’s really cool, was there and at the end of the show my Mom said I should go say hi to her. Now I’ve never been good with these situations, it’s not even a fear of stuttering its more it just feels weird. That probably didn’t makes sense but we’ll role with it. So me and C went up to the stage towards Mrs. W but she was like all over the place going this was and that.

C is more of an extrovert then me so she went on her mission, while I stood there awkwardly like umm what should I do? After regrouping with my Mom she told me, “James you just have to go for it like C” then C said, “Ya James like me!” So there we go with C in the lead and we got Mrs. W’s attention and she gave us a hug. After saying hi to a few of C’s friends, we then proceeded to our car on our way home. An awkward moment for me, where my sister C lead the way into battle, yet again. Maybe I could learn a few things from my sister, well hopefully.

– James

What's on your mind?

