Articles and College

Reinforcing my Decisions – Psychology


Humanist Perspective
Photo Credit: psychologistworld

In my psychology class yesterday, we learned about the humanist perspective on personality. This perspective details, “…the ability to help people deal with life more successfully.” During class yesterday I really connected with the humanist perspective. One of my reasons is whenever I generally see someone in distress; I have this natural instinct to offer my assistance, even if they refuse it or say that they can manage. Some would say this viewpoint is primarily because of how I was raised, or the environment that I grew up in. To an extent that is true. You can determine for yourself whether to follow the instructions of others, rather than relying on your own intuition. We were presented with this scenario of our psychology teachers close friend: His friend went to school to become a supervisor and was making loads of money. However after several years as a supervisor he became sick of it, it wasn’t his true passion so he told his boss he was applying to be a counselor for his colleagues instead, which as luck would have it there was an opening for one in his building. After completing school he became a counselor and is helping his co-workers deal with their individual needs.

The reason I bring up this short story is that no matter what you are the final decision of who you want to be. If you really have a passion for something, by all means pursue it to the ends of the earth. That’s at least what a humanist would advise, your happiness in life is far greater that monetization. For me I started off wanting to become a physical therapist. After looking into it more, especially with the math and science requirements, I felt it was a bit too much for me to attain at this moment in time. I now am going to be an occupational therapist; my focus would be on veterans more specifically the issues with the VA, and their ever growing need for occupational therapists. This brings me to my degree; I’m getting a degree in social sciences so that I can better help my patients, though I’ve never served in battle, I’ll at least be better equipped to help them overcome their difficulties. Follow your heart, wherever it leads go and grab it with all of your might, and whatever you do don’t let go.

– James

5 thoughts on “Reinforcing my Decisions – Psychology

  1. That’s a very cool thing to aspire to do. I am a disabled veteran. Although, I did not serve in the middle east. My rate was more of the “behind the scenes thing” in communication and information technology. Most of my disability rating is psychological for PTSD, but it was caused by a severe incident, stateside, rather than combat. When that happened, there wasn’t anything in place to help with the trauma but still I carried on and suffered in silence. I am now slowly formulating that story for my blog. It’s along and painful story, so it will take time to tell. In the meantime, I also went back to school and obtained my bachelors in psychology. I worked for six years at a military hospital as a custodial worker, in Civil Service, trying to get that position in mental health, but the facility I was working at is notorious for cliques and I was “type cast” by them, meaning they merely saw me as a cleaner and not what I was qualified to be. The final straw with that was the sixth position I applied for and was fully qualified to do. Even more than the other candidate. The contracted company wanted to hire me but the hospital’s mental health folks wanted the other guy because he had been working as a sailor for them. The end of that story is he got the job and the program he was to foster was failing because he didn’t have people skills or technical know how. He was subsequently let go but I was already gone by then.
    My skills in psychology are now used here. So, you go, Girl. Follow that course and see where it takes you! I enjoy the Humanist aspect of psychology too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whidbeyislandgirl,

      Thank you very much for your comment! I guess I’ve always been interested in the social sciences and by taking these classes I’ve now have started to realize the areas I excel in. I applaud you for sharing your story with us, though because of my blindness I’ll never see active duty military service, I would greatly appreciate hearing your story even if its just a snip-it of what you’ve experienced, please keep me posted! That’s very cruel and demeaning of them to disregard all you’ve done for this country, and only saw you as a custodial worker, when you have so many more skills than just that. It really makes my blood boil when people have the gall to just say, “You’re only good for this occupation” to me that’s bull crap, if you have the skills to preform a job regardless where you’ve obtained them, than you should have just as much of an opportunity as the next guy. That’s really cool though that you also like the humanist aspect as well, what do you find most fascinating about it?

      – James

      Liked by 1 person

      1. James, thank you so much. Civil Service is Federal Government. The folks that are employed in Civil Service tend to become entrenched and caught up in the politics of the job. It’s rampant throughout the system. I don’t CONDONE such behaviors, hence my graceful departure from the job and now onto photography, writing and other artistic pursuits. I’ve always been left brained when working. Now, I get to exercise my right brain. BTW, the brain happens to be my favorite organ. So fascinating. My favorite courses in college were Physiological Psychology. I will share my story soon. I will follow your blog as well. I relish my commiserations with my fellow bloggers. As for the Humanistic approach to psychology, I like the holistic concepts of it. Although our country embraces Western Medicine and its Pharma, I prefer Eastern Medicine for general health. It sort of follow along with the Humanistic concepts in seeing the body as a whole unit working in synchronicity rather than compartmentalization as other perspectives would have it. Though I’m a very detail oriented person, I’m also Big Picture on approach. I liked Skinners’s behaviorism and Rogers’ self-awareness and mindfulness. I think these aspects should be taken in consideration when treated complex disorders. I hate the “one-size” fits all with just throwing medications at the symptoms. I told my husband that psychologists don’t “fix” people; they merely FACILITATE the opportunities that help the person fix themselves, as it were. The humanistic approach looks at the person and not the problem. I also like to look at the physiological aspects of a problem, because there are significant and permanent changes to the brain in PTSD sufferers. I wrote a paper on that. Also, cognitive aspects need to be looked at, too. For me, a mix of all of the perspectives helps. Anyway, I could go on and on but I’m going on a trip this morning and need to get back to that. Will convo with you soon, my friend. Don’t know if I’ll have wifi available where I’m going.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. No worries whidbeyislandgirl, enjoy your vacation! Finals for me is in a few weeks so most of my attention will be on that. Thank you very much for following my blog, I do like conversing with fellow bloggers its refreshing to hear various opinions.

          – James

          Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

